My Hope (Thomas Merton)

Why should I want to be rich, when You were poor? Why should I desire to be famous and powerful? Why should I cherish in my heart a hope that devours me–the hope for perfect happiness in this life–when such hope, doomed to frustration, is nothing but despair?
My hope is in what the eye has never seen. Therefore, let me not trust in visible rewards.
My hope is in what the heart cannot feel. Therefore let me not trust in the feelings of my heart.
My hope is in what the hand has never touched. Do not let me trust what I can grasp between my fingers.
Death will loosen my grasp and my vain hope will be gone.

–from Thoughts in Solitude by Thomas Merton, p. 39
(the title “My Hope” was created by me for my blog…this is not the title given by Thomas Merton)

Leave a comment

Filed under Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

