Psalm 25:1-8 (Ad te, Domine, levavi)

I had the pleasure of cantoring this particular Psalm this past Sunday at church. I think it might now be one of my favorites:

To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul;
my God, I put my trust in you; *
let me not be humiliated,
nor let my enemies triumph over me.

Let none who look to you be put to shame; *
let the treacherous be disappointed in their schemes.

Show me your ways, O LORD, *
and teach me your paths.

Lead me in your truth and teach me, *
for you are the God of my salvation;
in you have I trusted all the day long.

Remember, O LORD, your compassion and love, *
for they are from everlasting.

Remember not the sins of my youth and my transgressions; *
remember me according to your love
and for the sake of your goodness, O LORD.

Gracious and upright is the LORD; *
therefore he teaches sinners in his way.

He guides the humble in doing right *
and teaches his way to the lowly.

–Psalm 25:1-8, from the Psalter of The Book of Common Prayer, p. 614.

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalms

Leave a Reply

