Today the Virgin

Today the Virgin comes to the cave
to give birth to the Word eternal:

Refrain:
Rejoice, O World!
With the Angels and the Shepherds
Give glory to the Child!
Alleluia!

Mary, my wife, O Mary, my wife!
What do I see?
I took you blameless before the Lord
From the priests of the Temple.
What do I see?

Refrain

Joseph, the Bridegroom, O Joseph the Bridegroom!
Do not fear.
God in His mercy has come down to earth,
He takes flesh in my womb
For all the world to see.

Refrain

Mary, my Bride, O Mary, my Bride!
What do I see?
You, a Virgin giving birth.
Strange mystery!

Refrain

Joseph, the Bridegroom, O Joseph, the Bridegroom!
Do not fear.
God in His mercy has come down to earth,
He takes flesh in my womb
For all the world to see.

Refrain

Warned by the Angel we believe
That Mary gives birth inexplicable
To the infant, Christ, our God.

Refrain

Music: Mother Thekla
Words: John Tavener (1989)

This work was first performed on December 27, 1989 at Westminster Abbey, London, by the Choir of Westminster Abbey conducted by Martin Neary.

–From the album Popular Christmas Carols, sung by the Choir of Norwich Cathedral.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hymns

Leave a Reply

