Guide Me, O Thou Great Redeemer

This is another one of my favorite hymns, sung to one of my favorite hymn tunes: Cwm Rhondda, a Welsh tune written in 1907. This hymn is also sometimes written as “Guide Me, O Thou Great Jehovah.”

Guide me, o thou great Redeemer,
Pilgrim through this Barren Land,
I am weak, but thou art mighty,
Hold me with thy pow’rful Hand;
Bread of Heaven, Bread of Heaven,
Feed me till I want no more.

Open now the Crystal Fountain
Whence the healing Stream doth flow,
Let the fi’ry cloudy Pillar
Lead me all my Journey through;
Strong Deliv’rer, Strong Deliv’rer,
Be thou still my Strength and Shield.
Be thou still my Strength and Shield.

When I tread the Verge of Jordan,
Bid my anxious Fear subside;
Death of Deaths, and Hell’s Destruction,
Land me safe on Canaan’s Side.
Songs of Praises, Songs of Praises,
I will ever give to Thee.
I will ever give to Thee.

–Words by William Williams (1717-1791), originally written in Welsh as “Arglwydd, arwain trwy’r anialwch”, translated into English by Peter Williams in 1771.
–Tune: Cwm Rhondda by John Hughes (1907)

–This version of the hymn is from the Royal Wedding: Official Album of the marriage of Prince William and Kate Middleton at Westminster Abbey on April 29, 2011. Accompaniment by The Choir of Her Majesty’s Chapel Royal, St. James’s Palace; Organist: Robert Quinney; Conductor: James O’Donnell.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hymns, My Favorites

Leave a Reply

