Lenten Reflection – Day 14

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul alike.”

~ John Muir, The Yosemite (1912)

John Muir has become one of my favorite writers about nature. I first fell in love with Mr. Muir when I watched a Ken Burns special on the U.S. National Parks. The series was intermingled with John Muir quotations, and it spoke about how intrinsic Mr. Muir was in working with the administration of his day to get the National Park system started. He was instrumental in the process, and he received all of his inspiration from the very thing he longed to protect. I shared one of my favorite quotations of John Muir a few years ago on this blog post, and I just came across the one above the other day and wanted to share. I have to say “Amen!” to that! I look forward to an upcoming trip I have planned for later this year to the first National Park in the United States: Yellowstone. With me, I will be taking a collection of John Muir’s writings with me. If what I have read so far of John Muir is any indication, I think I will enjoy the read.

John Muir: April 21, 1838 – December 24, 1914

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a Reply

