Holy Tuesday Reflection (Lent 36)

The final words of this hymn: “Love so amazing, so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all” send shivers down my spine every time I sing them. I think that this phrase perfectly sums up the duty of each Christian of committing one’s life to God in service, prayer, love, and humility. God’s love for us is unfathomable. It is a love that transcends all descriptions. We can only imagine what that love is like, which was made known to us in the life and death of Jesus Christ on the cross.

When I survey the wondrous cross
on which the Prince of Glory died,
my richest gain I count but loss,
and pour contempt on all my pride.

Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
save in the cross of Christ, my God:
all the vain things that charm me most,
I sacrifice them to his blood.

See, from his head, his hands, his feet,
sorrow and love flow mingled down!
Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
or thorns compose so rich a crown?

Were the whole realm of nature mine,
that were an offering far too small;
love so amazing, so divine,
demands my soul, my life, my all.

–Words: Isaac Watts (1674-1748), 1707
–Music: Gilbert Martin

Leave a comment

Filed under Hymns, Reflections

Leave a Reply

