How shall I fitly meet thee?

How shall I fitly meet thee,
and give thee welcome due?
The nations long to greet thee,
and I would greet thee too!
O fount of light, shine brightly
upon my darkened heart,
that I may serve thee rightly,
and know thee as thou art.

Original German:

Wie soll ich dich empfangen
Und wie begegn’ ich dir?
O aller Welt Verlangen,
O meiner Seelen Zier!
O Jesu, Jesu, setze
Mir selbst die Fackel bei,
Damit, was dich ergötze,
Mir kund und wissend sei.

Contemporary version by Sufjan Stevens:

–Words: Wie soll ich dich empfangen, by Paul Gerhardt, 1607-1676
–Tune: Christmas Oratorio BWV 248 (Johann Sebastian Bach, 1734)

by Heidi Malott

by Heidi Malott

Leave a comment

Filed under Hymns, My Favorites

Leave a Reply

