Preparing for the Gay Christian Network conference

This morning, I am hitting the road and heading a few hours south to the town of Portland, Oregon. My destination: the 2015 Gay Christian Network (GCN) conference. I have never attended a GCN conference, but the timing and location were right, so I thought I’d give it a look-see. Here is some information about the Gay Christian Network per its webpage:

Founded in 2001, the Gay Christian Network (GCN) is a nonprofit Christian ministry dedicated to building bridges and offering support for those caught in the crossfire of one of today’s most divisive culture wars…What began as an organization to provide support to LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) Christians has grown into a worldwide movement for compassion with many straight members as well. GCN helps create safe spaces both online and offline for Christians of all sorts to make friends, ask questions, get support, and offer support to others.

The theme for this year’s GCN conference is “But if we walk in the light as God is in the light, we have fellowship with one another.” (1 John 1:7a).

The organization is comprised of Christians of all walks of life, of organized religious communities, or “non-denominational” folk. I look forward to learning more about the organization, meeting some new people, and seeing places where God might wish me to go with my faith and in my walk with God.

One thing I’m very much looking forward is singing in the choir. I have volunteered to sing with around 100 other choristers at the Sunday liturgy. We will be singing one traditional anthem (God So Loved The World – from The Crucifixion, by Sir John Stainer) and one contemporary/gospel piece (Praise His Holy Name, Keith Hampton).

I hope to blog (or at least tweet) some while I”m attending. There will be lots of speakers and workshops covering a variety of topics. May God be with us all over these next few days as we meet to praise God and give thanks for the wonder of love in all its forms!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a Reply

